A brutally honest year in review

January 2, 2014 at 6:09 pm 1 comment

2013 sucked. It was the worst in so many ways. But because this is a running blog (kinda), let’s stick with just running. Which sucked more than most things last year. It got so bad in the last few months of the year that I basically stopped keeping track of the running I did. Which is why it took me a few minutes to figure out that I’d run something like 1,234 miles last year. That’s it. In the first 13 weeks of 2012 I ran 1,181 miles. So yeah. Bad. At least it’s a cool number, right?

Let’s keep rolling with this theme — I identify myself as an ultrarunner. By most people’s definition, an ultrarunner is someone who runs more than a marathon, with the baby ultras starting at 50k, or 31.1 miles. I did not complete a single run or race over 28 miles last year. I don’t count the 41 miles I am credited for in the Croatan 24 results. I RAN 28 miles and then stopped and walked the rest over the next few hours because my left leg felt like knives were stabbing it in various places. Which is the main theme of the last few months of 2013 — knives stabbing my legs. Imaginary ones. Sometime in late August, I felt a pain in my hip that spread to my left knee. And for the next five months I battled this pain off and on with no real improvement. Fits and starts. Two failed (and retrospectively stupid) attempts at 24 hour races. One also kinda dumb half marathon pacing job in there. And nothing really positive to report until the last week or so of December when, following a treatment from John Stiner, things finally started to feel ‘not awful’. 

So the last week I’ve run, and started going to the gym regularly again. Katie will be happy to hear I’ve done squats at least once a week for the past three weeks and that also seems to be helping. But let’s ditch the optimism for a few more minutes. I haven’t fully elaborated on just how monumentally bad 2013 was. The first race I ran I DNF’d. It was my first DNF ever. At the Uwharrie 40. I won’t get a chance to redeem myself this year because they went to a lottery and I didn’t get picked. But that’s probably  a blessing because I’m probably less ready for it this year than last. When I think about the races I’m most proud of, or that I feel I performed best at, I think about a beer mile I did in April. Yes, a beer mile was possibly my best performance of the year. At any rate, it was the only PR I registered last year (unless we’re talking about PRs for being a shitty runner). I also didn’t do super awful at the Running of the Bulls 8k in June. It was very humid and I managed to run 29:35 which wasn’t super far off from 2012’s performance when I felt like I was in pretty good shape. Again, for an ultrarunner to point to a mile and an 8k as his best performances for the year tells one all you need to know about how bad the year was.

Let’s not forget to mention how fat I got. Yes, fat is a relative term. 165 pounds for a 5’9″ male is not fat fat and most people I’d tell that to would laugh at me or smack me. But let’s be honest — when I ran Umstead I was 150 pounds. I felt good. I felt fast. I feel like a blob. And it’s not like I put on muscle. I was basically making donations to the Y for most of the year and eating waaaaay too many frosted sugar cookies from Target. Oh, and being a lazy good-for-nothing layabout.

I’m not going to write about resolutions or specific goals for 2014. All I want is for it to be much more like 2012 and pretty much nothing like 2013. That’s all I want. Oh, and I’ll blog more. I wrote three blog posts last year according to wordpress. I believe it. I didn’t have much good to write about. Or much running-type stuff. But I want to write. I like writing. And maybe connecting with other runners. I want to FEEL like a runner, an ultrarunner again. I’ve made a bit of a start, but I am well aware of how far I still have to go just to get back to where I was, let alone where I REALLY want to go eventually.

Mark, out.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Some stuff about July and whatnot Icy runner

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Hope Knight  |  January 2, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    Okay . . . good goals. Now get out there and get running, fatty. And run some miles for me since I’m stuck directing a musical for the next two months.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


John Stiner keeps me running strong

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

