Weekly recap 1/30 – 2/5 (and some introspective musings)

February 6, 2012 at 3:21 pm 3 comments

First, YEAH GIANTS!!! SUPER BOWL CHAMPIONS!!! WOOOO!!!! 

Second, a quick recap of what definitely the best week of the year, training-wise, (not saying a whole lot) and probably ever (saying a little more) for me.

Mon – pm: 23 miles, 3:19ish at Umstead mostly (with a loop of the 100 course in there)
Tue – am: 3 miles, 30ish (Duke XC loop)//3p- 4 miles, 36ish (Duke XC loop)//830p- 8 miles, 73ish, Cary Parkway meanderings
Wed – am: 3 miles, 28:30 (Duke XC loop)//pm: 15 miles, 2 hours, downtown Raleigh with Jessalyn who is also on the BCTC listserv
Thur – am: 4 miles, 37:30 (Duke XC loop + mile of hills)//pm: 16 miles, 1:58:30 on the American Tobacco Trail (soft side)
Fri – am: 3 miles, 29 minutes (Duke XC loop)//pm: 8 miles, 66:30 on treadmill @4%, preceded by my weekly squats and stuff, followed by another much needed and super helpful John Stiner massage
Sat – pm: 32 miles, 3:48 at Umstead, two 100 course loops (1:46, 1:47), plus some extra on the bridle trail
Sun – am: 6 miles, 57 minutes on the greenway to Umstead and back

Total for week: 125 miles, almost 18 hours

Both the time and the distance are, by a lot, Monday to Sunday lifetime highs for me. However, from last Sunday to Saturday, I had run 132 miles which is a general seven day high. Throw a freakin parade, right? A year or two ago, I would probably be looking to tell as many people as I could all about this. While I may have stopped short of full out bragging, I would have made a pretty big deal about it. I have a slightly different perspective on it now. I AM very pleased with how the week went. Monday’s run really set the tone for everything. It helped that pretty much every day it was in the 60s and sunny (at least until the weekend) and all I wanted to do when I got out of work was run. I had no major plans for the weekend (aside from the Super Bowl yesterday. GIANTS!) either so I was able to run as much as I pleased Saturday. It all added up. I remember back in January of 2009, I ran 93 miles one week in training for the National Marathon. I thought I was hot shit, I thought that 93 mile week was going to make me soooo good. Now I understand that one good stretch of seven days (or hell, one good month even) doesn’t magically make you a good runner. Consistency, that’s key. This week isn’t going to make the rest of the year a success. But it IS a very solid step (or, lots and lots of steps) in the right direction. I finished the week feeling about as good as I did at the start, which is a great sign. And both mentally and physically, I feel hungry for more. When I walked in for my massage Friday, John mentioned that I looked like I had started training in earnest again, something about my face. I guess it shows.

Semi-related… Part of why I love going to John has nothing to do with the excellent work he does, it’s almost like a two hour therapy session. I go in, I get my body fixed, AND we talk (mostly about running) and I always find I leave with my mind in a better place too. There have been thoughts rattling around in various stages of clarity for a while now. One thing I probably knew but didn’t admit to myself until this week was that I was at a really low point. Physically, I’ve been a little beat up since November, but it’s been more mental and emotional. I’ve run, I’ve even raced, but I haven’t enjoyed a whole lot of anything. I’ve been trying to find enjoyment and purpose and fun in the things I’ve done the past few months but it’s been a major struggle. This always seems to come up this time of year for me, and despite the nicer weather than most winters, it seems to have happened again. However, the overriding emotion I was feeling on Monday afternoon could probably most accurately be described as bliss. I was (mostly) alone in the woods on a beautiful early evening with the sun setting over the trees and my legs felt good and everything felt as it should be. I had intended to run about 18 and added an extra 5 because of that feeling. And that theme pretty much dominated the week; running more mostly because I felt like it. It was such a nice change from the way I’ve operated for so long; being semi-obsessed with the numbers, the number of miles I have to run in a week in particular. Sure, I knew I wanted to run a good amount last week but I didn’t have a specific number in mind. I felt good, I was running easy, so I ran a lot more than usual, and it felt great. I ran primarily for the sheer joy that the act of running brought me, not because I felt like I HAD to do it. Honestly, there were precious few moments when I actually even thought about upcoming races and goals while I was running, even while I was running the course at Umstead, a race that is drawing ever closer.

Another thing that turned into a more coherent thought on Monday was how while my life is far from perfect, I have a pretty sweet deal going on right now, at least for what I want out of life in the immediate future. I’m a single guy. I live alone. I have a job that, while demanding, allows me to mostly leave work at work so when it’s quitting time it becomes ME time. I have no real major responsibilities or attachments to anyone or anything other than me. So if I get home from work and decide to spend 3-4 hours running, I can do so without having to worry about coordinating dinner with someone else, or not spending enough time with someone else, or any of that. It’s a double-edged sword for sure, there is a great amount of loneliness that goes along with it, but it’s (mostly) by choice. My cousin (who is awesome, a couple of years older, married, and has two kids) was joking with me last night saying that it’s good and all that I have this running, but wondering if I ever want to have sex again, or eventually get married, have kids, etc. The short answer is yes… someday. Would I love a scenario that allowed me to have both? Of course. IS there a scenario like that possible? I’m sure there is. A lot of people seem to make it work. For me, it goes a lot deeper than just not having or not willing to sacrifice the time to find other people or cultivate something with someone. Ultimately, RIGHT NOW, this is working for me, mostly. There are rough times still, and I’m sure there will be many more, mentally and emotionally, but it’s hard to argue with, or compare to, the feeling I had for almost 18 hours of last week. I could go on for a while, but this has taken enough of a tangent for one day and I have a nap to get to.

Til next time, RUN HAPPY everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Weekly recap 1/23 – 1/29 Disaster averted

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dan Miranda  |  February 6, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    You (as well as I) are only young and largely responsible free once. Might as well take advantage (and kick a whole lot of ass) while you can!

    Reply
  • 2. Rebecca  |  February 6, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    Hahah, I remember when I ran my first week over 100. I thought I was something, too. Now it’s like no biggie at all! Distance running will humble you, that’s for sure.

    I love your perspective on being satisfied with your life “right now.” Sometimes I’m so impatient that I forget to see the GOOD that I have going.

    Your blog is great. I may even be on my way to considering a 100K. (I read over your race reports thinking, “I could maybe do that.”)

    Reply
    • 3. runningmanz  |  February 7, 2012 at 10:56 am

      Definitely. Humbling. It’s funny how as I improve as a runner, I begin to see how I’m even farther away from being particularly good as I thought I was years ago.

      I think it was important to me to write it down because I need a reminder more than most people. It’s a lot easier for me to focus on the negatives, with running and life in general.

      Ooooh! You totally could! Any idea which one or is it still in the “someday, maybe” stage?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


John Stiner keeps me running strong

My Twitter

  • RT @AravaipaRunning: Katalin Nagy will be surpassing 150 miles shortly! #ds24 http://t.co/8xMsiR7hXV 6 days ago
  • You ever get so sore you can't sleep bc every time you move... OW! Yeah. I'm there. The PR helps dull the pain some though. 6 days ago
  • This 5 day school week felt like it lasted approx 8 yrs. Jeez. Now to do something fun... like run 5 mile out & backs for 12 hours tomorrow 1 week ago
  • Hey all my new TAUR friends! I apologize in advance for the boring, sporadic, navel gazing that makes up most of what I post here #umrunning 1 week ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

