Meeting Tony Krupicka

January 13, 2012 at 11:00 am 1 comment

Last night after picking Ashley up from the airport and doing a run around Lake Crabtree, the two of us headed to Fleet Feet Sports in Carrboro. Fortunately for me, John Stiner told me during my massage last week that Anton Krupicka, he of the world-class (and really, out of this world class) ultrarunning talent and general bad-assitude,  would be doing a meet & greet and giving a talk there. I had had no idea and would have completely missed it. It was pretty freakin cool; Tony put on a slide show and talked about his running exploits through the years, answered a bunch of questions and was nice and patient enough to stay after and chat and take pictures, like the one below. He was very entertaining to listen to. Ashley and I both agreed that after listening to him talk and meeting him, we felt like we needed to go out RIGHT NOW and run UP A MOUNTAIN. And then do it again. TEN TIMES. Seriously, it definitely helped set the mood for this weekend, and for the year and beyond in general. Super motivating.

Cool in a different way was meeting someone outside the store who had also been to the talk. We started chatting about races and it came up that we had both done Triple Lakes 40. He asked how I had done and I told him I had won it last year. His reply was awesome – “Oh, YOU’RE MARK?!” Apparently more than just a half dozen or so people actually read this. I suppose that IS part of why I started it in the first place, to make some more connections in the running community, considering I’m still relatively new at it. And awkwardly shy in person.

Today we’re going to stock up on fuel stuff for the race and get my brother actual running shoes at Bull City Running Co and then eat pizza at my favorite — Bella Mia. This weekend has gotten off to a great start, here’s hoping it keeps going right through tomorrow and finishes with Ravens and Giants wins on Sunday.

Til  next time, RUN HAPPY everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

2012 US Marathon Trials fantasy team Weymouth Woods 100k race report

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  January 14, 2012 at 10:59 am

    I’m kind of sad you didn’t have the epic beard anymore for this picture. But not really because beards are not my favorite. Plus that might be why the other guy didn’t recognize you until you started talking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


John Stiner keeps me running strong

My Twitter

  • RT @AravaipaRunning: Katalin Nagy will be surpassing 150 miles shortly! #ds24 http://t.co/8xMsiR7hXV 3 days ago
  • You ever get so sore you can't sleep bc every time you move... OW! Yeah. I'm there. The PR helps dull the pain some though. 4 days ago
  • This 5 day school week felt like it lasted approx 8 yrs. Jeez. Now to do something fun... like run 5 mile out & backs for 12 hours tomorrow 5 days ago
  • Hey all my new TAUR friends! I apologize in advance for the boring, sporadic, navel gazing that makes up most of what I post here #umrunning 1 week ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

