Weekly recap, first week of January

January 9, 2012 at 10:51 am 4 comments

The first full week of 2012 is in the books. It did not start off particularly auspiciously, which seems to be a recurring theme for me. Last year I didn’t run my first mile until January 24th. After one week of 2011 I had logged a few miles in the pool and a couple hours on the arc trainer. Not exactly thrilling. In 2010 I had no injury excuse at the start of the year but I still only logged 4 miles in the first week, and 17 in the first ten days. In going back and looking at what exactly I WAS doing, two entries from the training log say simply “XT – bowling, pushups/pullups, something awesome” followed the next day by “XT – pushups, more awesomeness”. At least I had a good excuse it seems!

Unlike the previous two years, this one HAS actually gotten off to a pretty good start, at least after the first few days. Now that I’m settled back in NC and sort of into my regular routine, things are going much smoother. To recap:

Mon & Tue – absolutely nothing, though I did get an awesome massage Tuesday evening. And as usual, I really needed it. John worked on my frustrating big toe and, of course, Wednesday night I had my first pain-free run in a week or so. Gotta be voodoo.

Wed – the aforementioned pain-free run, 4 miles, 29 minutes, at the Fullsteam group. A couple new faces and a quickish last two or so miles in just-warm-enough-for-t-shirt (at least to me) temps. Went to the gym and did squats beforehand (as per Katie’s resolution for me to do squats at least once a week). I didn’t overdo it but I was already sore by the time the run started.

Thu – 10 miles, 89 minutes around the Duke XC trail. Ran into Kara early and ran the first 3ish with her, then ran over to the steepest hill on the loop and did that 15 times. It was slow going and my toe was getting a little sore by the end but I was happy with the effort on very sore legs.

Fri – 12 miles, 1:37ish. My legs were toast after two pretty intense days so I took it easy. Ran from the apartment up the Black Creek greenway, detoured onto Lake Crabtree singletrack, then up into Umstead for a bit before coming home. Really nice day for running and despite the soreness, my legs felt great as things went along.

Sat – 24 miles, 3:36. Drove down to Southern Pines and did loops at Weymouth Woods Nature Preserve. I’m running the Weymouth Woods 100k there this coming Saturday so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to do a long run on the course and see what I should expect. Glad I did, more because while driving there my GPS kept trying to take me down these private roads and some roads that didn’t actually exist. Glad I know how to get there now, so I don’t show up an hour late on race day. Each loop here was progressively quicker than the one before, and felt better too. Didn’t have enough water or gels but that won’t be a problem for the actual race.

Sun – 8 miles, 65:30. Watched the Giants beat up on the Falcons (GO BIG BLUE!) and then ran around my cousin’s neighborhood in north Raleigh before the start of the Steelers-Tebow game. Thanks to my fancy new Garmin (by the way, I’m probably ALWAYS going to refer to it as the “fancy new Garmin” even when it’s like 4 years old) I was able to go exploring a bit and ended up finding some sweet little trails that ran for a few miles along some stream near their house. Awesome. It was a wonderful night for a run and my legs, as is often the case it seems, felt BETTER after the long run yesterday than they had all week.

Total for the week – 58 miles

Not bad for only 5 days of running and overcoming some serious sluggishness (mostly of the mental variety) at the start of the week. It’s going to be an interesting week coming up. With the 100k on Saturday that’s 62+ miles for my week already allotted. However, I’m not tapering for the race, not really treating it much like a race at all. For me it’s going to be a long run and an opportunity to get logistical stuff in place for Umstead. Which is why it’s amusing to me that my brother and his friend, and my ultrafriend Ashley are all flying in specifically to see me at this race. Not to mention my cousins are coming down with their two boys. I’m going to feel a bit silly with such a big crew for a race I am probably not going to do particularly well at. Ah well, it’s nice to feel loved. The five days leading up to it I’ll take it somewhat easy but probably log about 50 miles total, more of it front-loaded. The goal is to do the race and not have to take a significant amount of down time after. Gonna be fun at any rate!

Til next time, RUN HAPPY everyone!

Entry filed under: Weekly Recap. Tags: .

2012 goals and stuff like that 2012 US Marathon Trials fantasy team

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  January 9, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    I think we need to amend that a bit – you don’t have to do squats when you are tapering. For Umstead/ 24 hour races.

    WW: don’t go out to fast, and eat early and often, and more than you want to. Run good!

    Reply
    • 2. runningmanz  |  January 9, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      I’m glad I have your blessing because I wasn’t planning on it anyway. Think I’m gonna hit the gym tonight but go even easier than last week. Five days seems to be the right amount of time to 95% recover from lifting like I did last week. Of course, I’m sure that’ll get easier as I do it more regularly but right now notsomuch.

      The plan is to start off painfully slow and apologize to everyone in my fan club at the end of each lap for wasting their time coming down to see me do a long run

      Reply
      • 3. Katie  |  January 9, 2012 at 3:16 pm

        Its not a waste of time, except for Ashley none of them could even conceive of doing running that long, its exciting to be a part of it. I think the support will be more helpful, mentally, than you realize right now. Its a long way to run and those 4 mile loops are gonna get boring pretty quick, so I think the distraction at the end of each one will be good.

      • 4. runningmanz  |  January 9, 2012 at 3:43 pm

        I guess I sorta misworded that. I just mean that I feel bad all of these people are coming down to watch me run a race that I am not going to be competitive or come anywhere close to my running up to my potential in. Thus, they’re basically just going to be watching me do a long run. But I will DEFINITELY appreciate the support, both physically and mentally!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


John Stiner keeps me running strong

My Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

