Weekly recap 12/12 – 12/18

December 19, 2011 at 10:18 am 2 comments

Finally finally FINALLY, after a frustrating few weeks I had one that actually felt like training and not just some jogging for fun and fitness!

Monday – 11 miles, 96 minutes on the treadmill at the Y. Also did some light lifting, mostly squats, before
Tuesday – 9 miles, 76 minutes on treadmill at Y, some steep hill climbs thrown in the middle
Wednesday – 4 miles, 31 minutes at the Fullsteam run and then 2 miles in 30 minutes on the treadmill (15% throughout)
Thursday – 12 miles, 97 minutes around Cary
Friday – got drunk, hooray for Christmas parties
Saturday –  20 miles, 2:54 at Umstead and Black Creek greenway
Sunday – 30 miles, 4:32 at Umstead (two Umstead 100 course loops, 1:51 each, plus some extra after)

Total for week – 88 miles

I was really pleased with this week. It was nearly 13 hours of running, most of it coming on my Saturday/Sunday back-to-back long runs. Although there are a few aches that seem to go and come every few days (currently my left big toe tendon again, the left hamstring earlier in the week but that has abated), I feel mostly fresh and healthy again. On top of that, since Hellgate, I have felt  a renewed energy and enthusiasm to train and improve and compete, something that waned a bit in the weeks following Stone Cat. While yesterday’s 30 slow and I was pretty exhausted, it was good to see that I still have the endurance to do something like a 20/30 back-to-back. Actually, previously my longest back-to-back runs were a 24/20 in July, and those were on pancake flat rail trails, so this is progress.

I’ve got an ambitious week (and really weeks) ahead, with a birthday run redux Friday and another ultra distance run on Christmas. As of now there’s a little less than three weeks til my next race (Weymouth Woods 100k), which will serve primarily as a long run in the build up to Umstead. It’s nice to feel like an actual runner, and eat like one without gaining ten pounds, again!

Til next time, RUN HAPPY everyone!

Entry filed under: Weekly Recap. Tags: .

Last week and Hellgate 100k+ crew report Obligatory 2011 year-in-review stuff

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dan Miranda  |  December 19, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    What area/where on LI will you be running? Maybe I could join you for a few miles of definitely easy running :)

    Reply
    • 2. runningmanz  |  December 19, 2011 at 10:16 pm

      Probably mostly around Wantagh depending on what family engagements I’ll have to do. I get in Wednesday morning. Friday I’m planning a reverse of the run I did on my birthday. The rough route can be found here: http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/60809954 I doubt you’d want to do all 46 miles but if you wanna jump in for any part of it, I know I’d appreciate the company (as long as you’re ok with going what I’m sure will feel to you like painfully slow). It’d also be cool to get up to Sunken Meadow or something like that too. If you facebook message me your number we can coordinate once we’re home :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


John Stiner keeps me running strong

My Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

