Don’t call it a comeback

December 7, 2011 at 10:28 am 2 comments

It’s been almost a month since my last update. It seems I fell into my familiar habit of when things aren’t going so well, I’m much less inclined to talk about it. Instead I tend to just get grumpy, brood, eat ice cream and oreos, and drink beer (that is, much more beer than I normally do, which is probably borderline having a problem level), and that ultimately leads to being slow, fat, and out of shape. Now I understand that three weeks worth of binging and inactivity and gaining about twelve pounds does not lead to the same type of slow, fat, and out of shape as your average American. I’m still only a little more than 160, which is still lighter than I used to be when I thought I was in pretty good shape. And I kinda half-assed an 18:50 5k on Thanksgiving on a whim, a time only two years ago I would have been THRILLED with. So perspective is important, and something I tend to lack when things seem to go less well than I’d like them to.

The week after Stone Cat I tried to run, and did. 30 miles on a sprained right ankle. Exactly one week after the race I drunkenly sprinted around downtown Raleigh with my friend Zane. The next morning my left peroneal tendon felt really sore. And it felt that way pretty much every day since. The past few weeks, as I mentioned above, I’ve done precious little running, or anything for that matter. Last week I went to the gym and lifted for the first time in a long while. Even though I THOUGHT I wasn’t overdoing it, apparently I overdid it. And was sore for the rest of the week. I was also getting more and more frustrated. Another week was slipping away and things still weren’t feeling as good as I wanted them to. Next year’s big races were getting closer and I’ve got to get back into training. Ugh. 24 frustrating miles was all I managed, a lot of it uncomfortable.

Sunday I went to see John Stiner for another massage. I walked in and I guess I was giving off the frustrated vibe because he told me I seemed real down. I explained my issues with the ankle and he set to work on it as thorough and focused as usual. Almost as important as the work he did on me physically, he helped reset me mentally. He’s a smart guy and he helped put things in perspective (which, again, is something I tend to lack when evaluating myself is concerned). I had a long stretch of very intense training and while I didn’t perform quite as well as I wanted to, I still ran two pretty good, very long races (the longest of my life). And throw in a new half marathon PR and what would have certainly been my first time under 17 for 5k and I had a season to be proud of. It was pretty much necessary to take some down time after all that. And it’s hard to go from up, up, UP, go, go, GO all the time to nothing. Any runner can relate to this. But that’s what I needed and that’s what I ended up getting, whether I liked it or not.

I took two days of pretty much complete rest after the massage. Last night I laced up my Brooks Launches, the ones I haven’t worn since the 40 miler, and ran 4 miles. It was the first time since Stone Cat that I completed a run without thinking to myself at some point, “[x] hurts, dammit.” I’m not 100% yet, but I’m ran mostly pain free last night and that’s a big first step. I’ve got some adventures left this year (one of which will be crewing Dave at Hellgate this weekend) and some big plans for next year and I think I’m finally ready to get back to work.

Til next time, RUN HAPPY everyone!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Stone Cat lessons Last week and Hellgate 100k+ crew report

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Adrienne  |  December 8, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Dang that paroneal tendon! I’ve jacked up each side during my relatively short running career.

    Congrats on your surprise yesterday as well. Steve and Co. were more under the radar on this one for sure. 2012 here we come!!

    Reply
  • 2. The Green Girl  |  December 13, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Hope that ankle continues to behave. ::fingers crossed::

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


John Stiner keeps me running strong

My Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

