Training week 10/24 – 10/30

October 31, 2011 at 10:05 am Leave a comment

First week of something resembling a taper down and I am not crazy yet. In fact, it was pretty nice. I used some of my extra free time to get some stuff done around the apartment but mostly I just relaxed more.

Mon – 10 miles, 1:27:30 mostly on the Black Creek greenway with an extension into Umstead
Tue – 12 miles, 1:31 on the soft side of the American Tobacco trail. Started off real easy, picked it up gradually and naturally on the way back, legs starting to feel completely recovered
Wed –  10 miles total, 6 solo (47 minutes) mostly around Duke’s east campus and then ten minutes after finishing that another 4 miles (27 minutes) with the Fullsteam group. It felt really good to be running quickly (much quicker than I’ve been going recently) and joking around and laughing with the guys
Thu – 10 miles, 79 minutes on the ATT (paved side) with one of the Bull City Track Club women who was getting a workout in and I took it as an opportunity to meet one of my new teammates and run faster than I probably otherwise would
Fri –  8 miles, 58 minutes on the trail around Lake Crabtree. It was rainy and muddy and I took my brand new Brooks Pure Grit trail shoes for their first run and really wanted to give them a good test. I intend to write a full review after the 50 miler (I’ll be wearing them at that) but early returns are that they are AMAZING!
Sat – 9 miles, 68 minutes on the Black Creek greenway, chilly morning, a little wet in spots, felt pretty good after the first few miles
Sun – 5 miles, 36 minutes on the American Tobacco trail (paved side) including a 4 mile Halloween themed fun run put on by Bull City Running

Total – 64 miles

The last time I ran so little in a week was over five months ago, in mid-March! It seems amazing to me that I have now managed to put together nearly half a year of easily the best, most consistent, most intense training I’ve ever done. By the end of this week my legs were feeling much fresher than they have in months, ready to just GO. On yesterday’s run, I started off with an 8:00 mile, then followed that up with a 7:00 without much change in perceived effort, the last two miles of the 4 miler were 12:45 and quite honestly I felt like I could hold that for a marathon (at least on a relatively easy course in weather like yesterday — low 50s, no breeze), which makes sense because based on my other race results, my VDOT predicts a 2:45-2:49 marathon. Of course, I’m running almost two marathons back-to-back on Saturday. But back to the past week, so my legs felt great yesterday and with five more days to get them recharged I’m feeling very good about the race. I kept the intensity higher than normal on most of my runs. The time for slow, easy running is over as it’s not going to do me much good now. The volume is significantly reduced, but the intensity isn’t so my legs will feel fresh, at least that’s the hope.

This week I will have even MORE free time. Just some shorter runs and one low-key workout tomorrow and then Saturday it’s time to reap the rewards of all my hard work. Til next time, RUN HAPPY everyone!

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

And now for something completely different: tapering Hay, barn, and other cliched cattle

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


John Stiner keeps me running strong

My Twitter

  • @smuttynosebeer by my recycling bin. And ya'll make some of my favorites, like Finest Kind and Old Brown Dog. Cheers! :) 1 day ago
  • @smuttynosebeer I'm glad you understand. I'm generally turned off by the half-assed attempts at the style. Yours is drinkable. As evinced... 1 day ago
  • .@smuttynosebeer pumpkin beer. You are not terrible. And that is a BIG compliment from me when it comes to pumpkin beers. 1 day ago
  • RT @MichaelHarren: ICYMI I released my debut album and book #TentativeArmor this week. Unique electro-acoustic music/spoken word. Look: ht… 1 week ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

